Things to Do in New York in April: Events for Each Day This Month

By Alison Durkee

Learn about 19th-century dining, tour a rooftop vineyard, tap into your inner flâneur, and much more with our top picks for what to do for each day in April.

Saturday, April 1. Read into past presidents’ literary habits at One Day University: The Presidents’ Book Club, which explores the books that shaped six former Commanders-in-Chief. New York Institute of Technology.

Sunday, April 2. Whistle a happy tune at Richard Rodgers and the Art of Collaboration, a talk and performance centering on the musical theatre composer’s legendary career. Symphony Space.

Monday, April 3. Rationalize today’s political climate with help from famed linguist Noam Chomsky at this discussion with Wallace Shawn. Stephen A. Schwarzman Building.

Rachel Schragis, Confronting the Climate: A Flowchart of the People’s Climate March, 2014–16 mixed-media collage, 3 x 12 feet © Rachel Schragis

Tuesday, April 4. Visualize global warming at the Psychology and Imaging of Climate Change, which will delve into the challenges in conveying climate change to the general public. International Center of Photography (Museum).

Wednesday, April 5. Make a choice to attend this discussion on women’s rights with Lena Dunham and Christian pro-choice advocate Dr. Willie Parker. The Strand.

Thursday, April 6. Examine those everyday savings at this Intelligence Squared debate on whether or not Wal-Mart has been good for America. Merkin Concert Hall.

Friday, April 7. Foxtrot your way to this discussion on the lesser-known creative life of 1920s icon Zelda Fitzgerald. The Strand.

Saturday, April 8. New York has a rich history of violence. Find out why, and where, on a downtown Manhattan walking tour of Crime in NYC: A History of Vice and Murder. Prospect Heights Brainery.

Sunday, April 9. Do an experiment at How We Can Save Science; How Science Can Save Us, a discussion with actor and science advocate Alan Alda on how and why we can bridge the gap between science and the general public. 92nd Street Y.

Monday, April 10. Lock in to this discussion of the causes behind mass incarceration and the paths to reform. Mid-Manhattan Library.

Tuesday, April 11. Go back in time for dinner with At the Tredwell’s Table, an exploration of dining customs in 19th century New York. Merchant’s House Museum.

Wednesday, April 12. Get lit on a talk series that once bore the name TED with the latest iteration of Drunk [REDACTED] Talks: Blaze ItLittlefield.

Thursday, April 13. Randy Cohen turns the attentions of his podcast Person Place Thing on writer Siri Hustvedt, author of A Woman Looking at Men Looking at Women: Essays on Art, Sex, and the Mind. Brooklyn Historical Society.

Friday, April 14. Turn love into a science at The Psychology of Relationships: How Experimental Science, Empirical Data and Seinfeld Help Us Understand Love. The Strand.

Saturday, April 15. Spend the sunset at Green-Wood Cemetery by joining their atmospheric twilight tour. Green-Wood Cemetery.

Sunday, April 16. Say cheers at this tour and tasting at Brooklyn’s Rooftop Reds, the only rooftop vineyard in the world. Untapped Cities.

Monday, April 17. Explore some of the world’s most distinctive spots without leaving Fifth Avenue at this illustrated lecture with Atlas Obscura. Mid-Manhattan Library.

Tuesday, April 18. Eat with your eyes at Food, Design, and Psychology, a talk exploring how our cuisine is affected by the way food products are designed. Prospect Heights Brainery.

Wednesday, April 19. Sustain yourself and explore the city’s environmental impact at Is New York’s Future Sustainable? Graduate Center, CUNY.

Thursday, April 20. Hear first-hand about the debates and conversations currently going on in and about the Muslim world at Letters to a Young Muslim. Asia Society and Museum.

Friday, April 21. Gaze at the sky through a new lens at Oh the Planets You’ll Go!, a free public lecture followed by guided stargazing. Columbia University.

Saturday, April 22. Brew up a cuppa and travel back to New York’s 1774 waterfront for this exploration of the city’s lesser-known Revolutionary-era tea party. Fraunces Tavern Museum.

Sunday, April 23. Jazz up your Sunday with a screening of I Remember Harlem, a documentary on the vibrant history of the uptown neighborhood. Museum of the City of New York.

Monday, April 24. Don’t just simulate your enthusiasm at MoMA’s Modern Mondays screening and discussion with animation artist Ian Cheng. Museum of Modern Art.

Tuesday, April 25. Sweat it out at this discussion with Pulitzer-winning playwright Lynn Nottage on her Broadway play Sweat. The Greene Space.

Wednesday, April 26. Revolutionize your knowledge of one of the nation’s first First Ladies at this talk on the groundbreaking story of Dolley Madison and her political influence. New-York Historical Society.

Thursday, April 27. Light the menorah while breaking out the matzoh at 18 Jewish Holidays in One Night, author Abigail Pogrebin’s exploration into the milestones of the Jewish calendar. Temple Emanu-El.

Friday, April 28. Blaze a trail at this discussion on Sherry Lansing, the first female head of a major motion picture studio, with Lansing, biographer Stephen Galloway, and actor Michael Douglas. 92nd Street Y.

Saturday, April 29. Spend your night out at one of the world’s top museums at Saturday Evenings at The Met, an after-hours tour. Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Walter Benjamin, c. 1925, photographed by Germaine Krull. Photograph © Estate of Germaine Krull, Museum Folkwang, Essen, image provided by IMAGNO / Austrian Archives, Vienna

Sunday, April 30. Stroll around the city like a true flâneur at New York Flânerie, a Walter Benjamin-inspired walking tour of NYC and the landmarks along the way. The Jewish Museum.

For a printable PDF of the April 2017 calendar, click here.


All of smart New York in one weekly email: The Curriculum, free from Thought Gallery.