The May Calendar: Events for Each Day This Month

By Alison Durkee

May has arrived, and with it comes warmer weather, blooming flowersand plenty of great events. Here’s what to look forward to each day this month, with events spanning everything from modern day idolatry to mindfulness and Japanese architecture.

Tuesday, May 1: Get a glimpse of the male psyche at Inside the Male Brain, an exploration of the various internal and external forces that have driven men’s worst behaviors. Brooklyn Historical Society.

Wednesday, May 2: Streamline your evening at Making America Modern, a talk exploring how interior design evolved in the 1930s. New York School of Interior Design.

Thursday, May 3: Sweeten your Thursday at this guided tasting exploring honey in all its various flavors. Museum of Food and Drink.

Friday, May 4: Use the force at The Science of Star Wars, as experts offer their own takes on the scientific powers behind that famed galaxy far, far away. Caveat.

Saturday, May 5: Take a three-dimensional look at the 1950s at this event featuring a collection of 3-D photos from the bygone era. Q.E.D.

Sunday, May 6: Travel back to old New Amsterdam for this look at NYC’s Dutch roots through the lens of the Hendrick I. Lott House and the city’s other remaining Dutch buildings.

Monday, May 7: Put your money where your brain is at this seminar on the relationship between neuroscience and economics. Columbia University.

Tuesday, May 8: Recontextualize art at this Brooklyn Commons event that rethinks everyday objects with artists Haim Steinbach and Remy Jungerma. International School & Curatorial Program.

Wednesday, May 9: Learn about Anna Quindlen’s favorite things at this Person, Place, Thing event with the novelist and journalist. Marlene Meyerson JCC Manhattan.

Thursday, May 10: Uncover some hidden battle wounds at Scars of Independence, which will delve into the darker, more violent side of the Revolutionary War. Fraunces Tavern Museum.

Friday, May 11: A picture will be worth a thousand words at this event on the image and social change. International Center of Photography (School).

Saturday, May 12: Stay protected at this conversation with two top national security experts and advisors on National Security in the Age of Trump. New-York Historical Society.

Sunday, May 13: Raise a Mother’s Day glass at this tour and tasting celebrating the little-known influence of women on whiskey and some of the spirit’s top brands. Brooklyn Navy Yard.

Monday, May 14: Write up a reason to attend this conversation with novelist Mario Vargas Llosa on his life in letters. New York Public Library—Stephen A. Schwarzman Building.

Tuesday, May 15: Get a first-hand perspective on the Middle East at this conversation with former Israeli Prime Minister Ehud Barak. 92nd Street Y.

Wednesday, May 16: Enliven your moments of fellowship with some help from author Priya Parker, an expert in The Art of Gathering: How We Meet and Why It Matters. The Strand.

Thursday, May 17: Question democracy at Democracy Reinvented, a seminar exploring Thomas Jefferson’s radical views of government by the people. Brooklyn Academy of Music (BAM).

Friday, May 18: Hope that past isn’t prologue at The Suicide of Greece: The Saga of the Peloponnesian Wars, a New York Military Affairs Symposium at the Soldiers’, Sailors’, Marines’, Coast Guard and Airmens’ Club.

Saturday, May 19: Circumnavigate the isle of Staten on this boat tour of the New York and New Jersey coastlines. National Lighthouse Museum.

Sunday, May 20: Get out the vote at this symposium celebrating the centennial of women’s suffrage in New York and the state’s women of past and present. The Bronx County Historical Society.

Monday, May 21: Journey on at this event recounting Mark Adams’ attempt to recreate an 1899 exploration of Alaska. The Half King.

Tuesday, May 22: Delve into stitches in time as The New York Academy of Medicine Library Artist in Residence Kriota Willberg talks about her discoveries in medicine and creativity with Needlework: Some Histories of Sewing the Body.

Wednesday, May 23: Reconsider the modern equivalents of false gods as Idolatry in the Modern Age continues a spring series on the Ten Commandments at the Museum at Eldridge Street.

Thursday, May 24: Get back together with the cast and creatives behind Homicide: Life on the Street as they reunite at the Paley Center for Media.

Friday, May 25: Forget your troubles at this event exploring what exactly happiness means. The Strand.

Saturday, May 26: Discover the final resting place of some of New York’s top residents on this tour of Trinity Church Cemetery in Upper Manhattan. The Municipal Art Society of New York.

Sunday, May 27: Hark back to entertainment of yore as Ali Silva and Fireside Mystery Theatre host an evening of music and sketches inspired by old-time radio broadcasts. The Slipper Room.

Monday, May 28: Celebrate 20 years of a New York favorite as Green-Wood Cemetery hosts its annual Memorial Day Concert; this year will honor one of Green-Wood’s own with a Leonard Bernstein Centennial Celebration.

Tuesday, May 29: Ponder a post-Trump world with the authors of To End a Presidency: The Power of Impeachment, joined by CNN’s Jeffrey Toobin and former U.S. Representative Elizabeth Holtzman, who voted to impeach Richard Nixon. 92nd Street Y.

Wednesday, May 30: Ask why “in God we trust” at this history of civil religion in America, exploring how the country was founded with both sacred and secular values. The New York Society Library.

Thursday, May 31: Find some peace at this session on mindfulness and Japanese architecture. Japan Society.

For a printable PDF of the May 2018 calendar, click here.


All of smart New York in one weekly email: The Curriculum, free from Thought Gallery.