The May Calendar: Events for Each Day This Month

By Alison Durkee

Mayday! Spring has barely arrived and it seems like summer is already on the horizon, as the month of May brings warmer weather, sunnier skies, and Memorial Day weekend. Get out and enjoy all the city has to offer, including these upcoming talks and spanning everything from climate courage to near-death experiences.

Wednesday, May 1: Seek justice at this conversation with former U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of New York Preet Bharara. NYU School of Law.

Thursday, May 2: Finish the hat at this lecture on Stephen Sondheim and James Lapine’s Pulitzer-winning musical Sunday in the Park with George. 92nd Street Y.

Friday, May 3: Discover Brooklyn’s secrets from one of its most hidden spots, a wildflower rooftop garden along Newtown Creek, at this talk and tour.

Saturday, May 4: Enliven your senses at this historical talk and workshop on herbs, which will include the chance to pick some herbs yourself and make them into “scent-sational” creations. Mount Vernon Hotel Museum & Garden.

Sunday, May 5: It’s of “grave” importance you attend the Festival of Arcane Knowledge, an afternoon-long exploration of the intersection of art, culture, and death. Green-Wood Cemetery.

Monday, May 6: Navigate your way to this panel discussion on Manhattan’s grid, its creation, and how it impacts the city. Graduate Center, CUNY.

Tuesday, May 7: Straddle two worlds as Tibetan teacher Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche shares his near-death experience and what it taught him about life;  with Laurie Anderson. Murmrr.

Wednesday, May 8: Hear from immigrants about their experiences at This Alien Nation, a celebration of immigration in which immigrants tell true tales from their lives. Public Theater.

Thursday, May 9: Be off the clock for this panel on the future of work in the age of artificial intelligence. New York Live Arts.

Friday, May 10: Poeticize your protest at this one-night-only lecture by director Boots Riley on art and civil disobedience at The Shed.

Saturday, May 11: Proceed to the East Village for the Procession for Climate Solutions, which features a 6-hour procession and site-specific performances to highlight sustainability solutions in the East Village and Lower East Side.

Sunday, May 12: Celebrate Mother’s Day Harlem style at this event at the Gadson Gallery, which features a variety of local artisans showcasing their creations.

Monday, May 13: Don your hat for this event on fashion and the fight for suffrage, which concerns the turn-of-the-century controversy over the killing of birds in order to make hats, and how two leading women represented both sides of the suffrage and millinery debates. The General Society Library.

Tuesday, May 14: Have the vision to attend this talk with author Andrea Carson on her book Visionary Women, which will focus specifically on Jane Jacobs and Rachel Carson. The Skyscraper Museum.

Wednesday, May 15: Get exposure to the worlds of photography and science at this author talk with Marvin Heiferman on his book Seeing Science: How Photography Reveals the Universe. Aperture Gallery and Bookstore.

Thursday, May 16: Confront hate with Emmy Award–winning documentarian Deeyah Khan, who shares the knowledge she’s gleaned from years among extremist ideologies. National September 11 Memorial & Museum.

Friday, May 17: Head to the farmlands of Tribeca for a New York Adventure Club private tour and tasting looking at the future of cultivation at Manhattan’s only indoor hydroponic farm.

Saturday, May 18: Take yourself out to the ball game with Atlas Obscura’s afternoon baseball game—played as they did in 1864. Prospect Park.

Sunday, May 19: Stretch up to Washington Heights for an Open Heart Conversation that explores the path of Bhakti yoga and awakening with his holiness Radhanath Swami. United Palace.

Monday, May 20: Feel free to fail at this talk with musician Moby and neuroscientist Dr. Moran Cerf on the power of failure. Rubin Museum of Art.

Tuesday, May 21: Stitch things up at this talk on the art of mending kimonos and how those techniques have been adopted by the Western fashion world. Japan Society.

Wednesday, May 22: Celebrate the 100th anniversary of the astronomical confirmation of Einstein’s General Theory of Relativity with theoretical physicist Brian Greene, an ensemble cast, and a new theatrical work. Jazz at Lincoln Center.

Thursday, May 23: Don’t start a riot at this Invisible Dog Art Center launch event for Sri Lankan-American writer Ryan Chapman’s novel Riots I Have Known.

Friday, May 24: Fight against aggression at this event on the international history of the War for Peace in Vietnam. Soldiers’, Sailors’, Marines’, Coast Guard and Airmens’ Club.

Saturday, May 25: Decode Green-Wood Cemetery’s “secret language” on this tour of the cryptic symbols etched into the cemetery’s centuries-old monuments. Green-Wood Cemetery.

Sunday, May 26: Look at literature through a Rwandan lens at RadioBook Rwanda, a talk exploring the work of three young Rwandan fiction writers. The Center for Fiction.

Monday, May 27: Expand your reading list at this double book launch for Michael Washburn’s Uprooted and Peter Gelfan’s Monkey Temple. The Strand.

Tuesday, May 28: Do it all at this talk on the importance of being a generalist in today’s specialized workforce. Company HQ.

Wednesday, May 29: Stay optimistic at this event exploring how to cultivate hope while facing the devastating reality of climate change. Rubin Museum of Art.

Thursday, May 30: Dress up for this conversation between fashion historian and FIT museum director Valerie Steele and artist Jeffrey Gibson on the relationships between couture and indigenous fashion design. New Museum.

Friday, May 31: Spend your Friday night at the Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum’s Free Friday event, which includes interactive activities, performances, talks, movie screenings, and even “intergalactic yoga.”

For a printable PDF of the May 2019 calendar, click here.


All of smart New York in one weekly email: The Curriculum, free from Thought Gallery.