Things to Do in New York in November: Events for Each Day This Month

By Alison Durkee

November is nearly here, bringing the midterm elections, Thanksgiving, and—shudder—the start of the holiday season. Get ready to nearly bring the year to an end by learning about everything from politics to Chinese food to shamanic dreaming at these upcoming talks and events.

Thursday, Nov. 1. Have a ball at this session on the vast global history of the humble meatball. Museum of Food and Drink.

Wayne Gonzales, (American, born 1957). Peach Oswald, 2001. Acrylic on canvas. Courtesy of the artist; courtesy Stephen Friedman Gallery, London.

Friday, Nov. 2. “They” want you to find out about the rise of conspiracy at a MetFridays talk inspired by the new Met Breuer show Everything Is Connected: Art and Conspiracy.

Saturday, Nov. 3. Transport yourself to this talk on how urban transportation can—and must—adapt to climate change. Center for Architecture.

Sunday, Nov. 4. It’s absurd for you to miss this screening of Rhinoceros, the 1974 film adaptation of Eugene Ionesco’s play starring Gene Wilder and Zero Mostel. The screening will be followed by a discussion on how the movie’s political themes still resonate today. Museum of the Moving Image.

Monday, Nov. 5. Combat racism at this talk with activist Angela Davis on politics and aesthetics in the age of Black Lives Matter. NYU Skirball Center.

Tuesday, Nov. 6. After you vote, watch the results come in with live political commentary at Housing Works’ Midterms Live event. Housing Works Bookstore Café.

Wednesday, Nov. 7. “Wok” over to this conversation on the role that cooking and food plays in Chinese-American culture and identity. Museum of the City of New York.

Thursday, Nov. 8. Pursue happiness at this talk on how the nation’s ideals were first formed during the Revolutionary War era. Fraunces Tavern Museum.

Friday, Nov. 9. Rehash the midterm elections at this conversation on how the election played out with Nate Silver and other journalists from FiveThirtyEight. 92nd Street Y.

Kyabgön Phakchok Rinpoche will speak at the Rubin.

Saturday, Nov. 10. Apply lessons of the past at this conversation on how ancient wisdom can influence our technological future. Rubin Museum of Art.

Sunday, Nov. 11. Slip into a session on shamanic dreaming as two brothers lead a session on Toltec wisdom. United Palace.

Monday, Nov. 12. We “sense” you should attend this course on the natural history of the five senses. American Museum of Natural History.

Tuesday, Nov. 13. Prescribe yourself a trip to this #YeahYouWrite author reading exploring the doctor-patient relationship in fiction and non-fiction. Bo’s Kitchen and Bar Room.

Wednesday, Nov. 14. Don’t be in danger of missing out on this talk offering first-hand accounts of the efforts to stop endangered species from facing extinction. The Explorers Club.

Thursday, Nov. 15. Draw up the resistance at this PEN America conversation on visual disobedience and how graphic novelists contribute to the national political conversation through their work. The Strand.

Friday, Nov. 16. Hear from chef Marcus Samuelsson and poet Denice Frohman at this live recording of NPR’s Code Switch.

Saturday, Nov. 17. Nerd out at this Nerd Nite featuring a talk on an Olympian’s “Truman Show”-like experience. Littlefield.

Sunday, Nov. 18. Go back to New York’s colonial history on this walking tour of Westchester Square in the Bronx. The Municipal Art Society of New York.

Monday, Nov. 19. Whistle a happy tune at this conversation on how show tunes have entered pop culture and captivated Americans both past and present. NYU Skirball Center.

Tuesday, Nov. 20. Have what she’s having as NYU professor of human sexuality Dr. Zhana Vrangalova leads a session debunking myths about the female orgasmSubject.

Wednesday, Nov. 21. Prep for Thanksgiving gorging with a walking tour of the Lower East Side, hosted by the Tenement Museum, and focused on the architecture of the neighborhood and the people who shaped it.

Thursday, Nov. 22. Before or after giving thanks, drink in the sky-high view of the city from the Empire State Building, which is open 365 days a year.

Friday, Nov. 23. Mark Black Friday with a dark look at the Village as the New York Adventure Club sets off on a tour that explains How 200 Years of Death in Greenwich Village Changed America.

Saturday, Nov. 24. Go beyond modernism on this walking tour of Midtown East’s post-modern architecture. The Municipal Art Society of New York.

Sunday, Nov. 25. Hop onboard this trolley tour of Green-Wood Cemetery’s beautiful grounds and history, which is being offered weekly throughout the fall. Green-Wood Cemetery.

Monday, Nov. 26. Get a “sober” view of the city at this talk on World War I, New York City, and the enactment of Prohibition. The Park Avenue Armory.

Tuesday, Nov. 27. Put down your phone for this interactive evening on how to have a healthier relationship with your smartphone. 92nd Street Y.

Wednesday, Nov. 28. Pass on what you learn at this talk on how the concept of karma could help us to better understand genetics. Rubin Museum of Art.

Thursday, Nov. 29. Seek justice at this talk on the “broken windows” theory and how it’s affected the criminal justice system. NYU School of Law.

Friday, Nov. 30. Don’t take lightly this event on Jewish humor and whether Jewish comedians can reference the Holocaust for laughs. Holocaust Memorial and Tolerance Center of Nassau County.

For a printable PDF of the November calendar, click here.


When a Nobel Laureate speaks, who listens? Sign up for Thought Gallery’s weekly Curriculum and get the best of smart NYC delivered right to your inbox.