The August Calendar: Events for Each Day This Month

By Alison Durkee

August has arrived, and with the final fleeting days of summer upon us, it’s the perfect time to get out of the apartment. Finish out the summer by learning about everything from Prospect Park to psychopaths at these upcoming talks and events.

Thursday, August 1: Your summer night will blossom at the Merchant’s House Museum’s Summer Evening in the Garden, featuring special after-hours access to the museum’s 19th century garden.

Friday, August 2: Get your hands dirty at this special tour of the Cloisters and Fort Tryon Park, which offers the chance to forage for the park’s hidden herbs, greens, berries, mushrooms, and more.

Saturday, August 3: Spend your first August Saturday at the Brooklyn Museum’s Target First Saturday, which offers musical performances, workshops, talks, and more.

Sunday, August 4: Hunt down history at this unique scavenger hunt centered on the Revolutionary War era. New-York Historical Society.

Monday, August 5: Make ‘em laugh at this talk on the “specters of slapstick” and comediennes in the silent film era. Bryant Park/Bryant Park Reading Room.

Tuesday, August 6: Leave the stereotypes behind at this talk on everything you wanted to know about psychopaths but were afraid to ask. Subject.

Wednesday, August 7: Don’t pay a premium for this talk on the path to single-payer health care. Housing Works Bookstore Cafe.

Thursday, August 8: Grow your own urban garden after attending this talk on cultivating green space in the home. 92nd Street Y.

Photo by Elena Mudd.

Friday, August 9: Don’t delude yourself into missing this talk with author Jia Tolentino on her new book of essays, Trick Mirror. The Strand.

Saturday, August 10: Lend an ear to an outdoor concert and spoken word performance, inspired by the summer exhibition Mundos Alternos: Art and Science Fiction in the Americas at the Queens Museum.

Sunday, August 11: Leap over to Battery Park for the annual Battery Dance Festival, which will feature special outdoor performances in Battery Park through August 17.

Monday, August 12: Embrace the chaos at Chaos Theory, an immersive, comedic event about the chaos in our lives. Caveat.

Tuesday, August 13: Go on a hunt for meaning (and fungi) with author Long Litt Woon, whose The Way Through the Woods illuminates a widow’s path to healing through mushroom hunting. Book Culture on Columbus.

Wednesday, August 14: Get off the bias by learning more about the data and stories behind Shadows of Doubt: Stereotypes, Crime, and the Pursuit of Justice with authors Brendan O’Flaherty and Rajiv SethiNew York Public Library—Mid-Manhattan Library.

Thursday, August 15: Keep one eye open at this screening and talkback for the documentary Watched: Coming of Age Under Surveillance. Brooklyn Historical Society.

Friday, August 16: Jet over to Intrepid for this talk on the Concorde and designing the future. Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum.

Saturday, August 17: Hop aboard this Bronx Victrola trolley tour, which will feature spots centered on the greats of jazz and vaudeville alongside special tunes from a 78rpm record played on an antique crank-up Victrola.

Leonel Ponce/Flickr.

Sunday, August 18: Climb aboard to see one of the world’s most remarkable land reclamation projects as the American Institute of Architects leads an Industrial Waterway Tour to Freshkills Park.

Monday, August 19: Say ‘Hooray for Hollywood’ at this talk on the rise and fall of movie mogul William Fox. Bryant Park/Bryant Park Reading Room.

Tuesday, August 20: Swipe right on this talk exploring the science of love in the age of online dating. Subject.

Wednesday, August 21: Seeing won’t be believing at this talk with Deepak Chopra and Dr. Don Hoffman on Hoffman’s book The Case Against Reality. Rubin Museum of Art.

Mennonite Quilt: Joseph’s Coat, artist unidentified, United States, early twentieth century, cotton, gift of Karen and Werner Gundersheimer, 2018.2.13. Gavin Ashworth.

Thursday, August 22: Weave your way through the American Folk Art Museum on this critical walk-through with artist LJ Roberts. American Folk Art Museum.

Friday, August 23: Demystify the art world at Modern Whitney, a comedy show about breaking down art and figuring out its meaning. Caveat.

Saturday, August 24: Don’t save the drama on a visit to the Rave Theater Festival’s Sweet Lorraine, an interpretation of the final conversation between best friends Lorraine Hansberry and James Baldwin. Teatro Latea.

Sunday, August 25: Stroll through Prospect Park on this tour of key destinations created by Prospect Park co-designers Frederick Law Olmsted and Calvert Vaux.

Monday, August 26: Escape isolation at White Flights, a critique of white writers whose stories are set in isolated settings in which they don’t have to engage with race. New York Public Library—Mid-Manhattan Library.

Tuesday, August 27: Situate yourself amongst the stars at this Grand Tour of the Universe. American Museum of Natural History.

Photo: Yael Brender, Australian Jewish News.

Wednesday, August 28: Never forget by attending this talk with Holocaust survivor Eddy Boas. Museum of Jewish Heritage.

Thursday, August 29: Separate fact from fiction at this talk on women’s health with Dr. Jen Gunter and Dr. Dara Kass. 92nd Street Y.

Friday, August 30: Go beyond Museum Mile and discover the Upper East Side’s art gallery scene on this walking tour. The Municipal Art Society of New York.

Photo: Thomas Hawk/Flickr.

Saturday, August 31: Cross the East River for this tour of Long Island City and what’s new in Western Queens. The Municipal Art Society of New York.

For a printable PDF of the August 2019 calendar, click here.


New York moves fast. Don’t miss a thing. Sign up for Thought Gallery’s weekly Curriculum, the best of smart NYC delivered right to your inbox.